Tanzania Ministry of Transport The United Republic of Tanzania, Ministry of Transport Miaka Hamsini ya Uhuru 1961-2011

Authorities, Agencies and Institutions

Institution | The Government established the DMI on 3rd July 1978. This was at a time when the STCW78 Convention was promulgated an International legal instrument requiring formal training for seafarers which Tanzania aimed to comply with. In 1992 the Institute was formally established by an Act of Parliament, the DMI Act No. 22 of 1991.

In November 1996 the sixth Commission for East African Cooperation - the forerunner of the current East African Community – sitting at its Head-quarters in Arusha,…
Page 1 of 1 pages

More on Affiliations

Policies and Regulations